The Woman Who Cried Labour

False labour. Two counts now.

It was frustrating.

First was last night – I woke at 12:20 AM to somewhat regular, painful contractions & diahhroea. Was told to come into the hospital & to pack as if I was having my baby. It was all very scary, odd & strangely exciting.

On the way to the hospital I continued to get regular contractions until about half way there (this was over an hour and a half after waking) where they quickly became less painful and less regular.

By the time I was at the hospital, hooked up to the monitors I was only contracting at a slightly more intense level than Braxton Hicks every 10 mins. Good news! But really not a fun way to spend the wee hours of the morning.

As soon as I got off the monitors I got a more painful contraction and all the way home I had pains around 6 mins apart. I was too tired to care, took some panadol and slept.

I woke up with no issues whatsoever except that I was really nauseous. Come midday I managed some food whilst getting severe gastro pains which then amped up the BH contractions until I was in more pain than earlier that morning.

I begged Mike to come home from work, took panadol, jumped in the bath and called the hospital. Again, they said to come in so we jumped in the car but the panadol kicked in when we almost got there and I was frustrated to realise that the contractions seemed further apart so we came home.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m reeeeeaaaalllly happy that it wasn’t progressing to true labour but I got increasingly frustrated with my body “playing tricks on me” (my thoughts at the time).

I then started reading more about false labour and changed my mind on the whole deal. My body is preparing… It’s doing it’s job. This is a good thing. It is what neeeds to happen for my body to birth my perfect son. So now I feel more equipped & happy.

Chances are I could continue to have these ‘false labours’ up until around my due date so I best get my head around the idea that painful contractions do not necessarily equal early labour 🙂

That being said, I’m so exhausted both physically and mentally & have a baby shower (not tomorrow but the next day) so I have so much to do! Update coming soon ❤

I’m 35 weeks today and have 35 days until my due date 🙂 Amazing!

Posted in Uncategorized

Let me know what you think!

