My Boys

There is this man that I love so dearly. He’s the one who made my heart flip as a fifteen year old nerd. He’s the one who kissed me like no one else on the 4th of October 2003. He is the man I married 5 years later. He’s the one who makes me laugh like no one else can. He’s the one who annoys me when he mispronounces things like sachet.

No one could argue that he is lovely or friendly or kind. He’s the kind of guy who doesn’t have enemies. He’s my voice of reason… the one who balances me. He is the man who knows how I’m feeling just by looking at me. He’s the one who has seen me at my worst and at my best. He knows me. Like really, truly, deep-down knows me… and loves me.

I find it harder to talk about my love for Mike. I could blab on and on about how great Cameron is but I feel like I’m divulging these intimate secrets… Even if its something as simple as saying how Mike and I fall asleep holding hands and race around the house tickling eachother calling eachother names.

I’ve never been as open about my intense love for Mike because I feel vulnerable admitting it. But he is my all. These are not just words – he means the world to me. I suppose it’s obvious given the whole being-married-to-him thing and having-children-with-him thing. But I kind of realised the other day that from the outside it could seem like I’m taking this amazing man for granted.

& I’m not. Believe me, I’m not. We have that once-in-a-lifetime-connection. Being high school sweethearts is a pretty special thing. We have grown together during that extremely delicate period of development and helped mould eachother into functioning adults… all whilst growing this love. We have been together for 30% of eachothers lifetime. Wow.

& now we have this little family together.

I love that I can say “my boys” and I love that right now I’m hearing them playing in the bath giggling. I am just so flippin’ happy right at this moment in my life and so lucky and thankful for it because life sure can go up and down.

My bubby boy is such a mini-Mike. With his blue eyes with the yellow ring around them, his cute chin, his blonde hair, his mangy pinky fingers and his annoying nails that curl around and wide and hard to cut. I’m still in there when he raises his eyebrow and can see myself in him when he smiles but he’s my sweetheart who looks like the man I adore.

Cam is still refusing to crawl properly and thinks commando crawling is best. He’s being a sooky clingy bub but I’m not-so-secretly loving that only Mumma will do and I get loads of kosses and snuggles. We’re off to swim tomorrow with Mike which is always one of my favourite things to do!

I’m currently uploading a PROPER VLOG… wow-waa-wee-waa! So keep your eyes peeled! More to come!

One thought on “My Boys

  1. There is definitely something special about high school sweethearts and the connection you have to someone you get the opportunity to love And grow up with. Growing up together and sharing all of those monumental moments and memories is something that not many get the gift of doing. My partner and I met when we were 13 and got together at 15, and now, we are 29 with our 3 month old baby girl. We have learned to drive together, graduated, went to college, got our first apartment, bought our first house, etc. etc. all while growing together over 14 years. It is great to see you write stories about the love you and Mike share because it is a very special thing that not many people have (even the ones who are married and have kids together). Love love. ❤

Let me know what you think!

