My ‘Rainbow Baby’

For those unfamiliar with the phrase “rainbow baby” it is a baby that is born following a miscarriage or stillbirth.

Cameron is my rainbow baby. He is my beautiful and bright rainbow that followed the storm and injected hope for better things. A rainbow is always more appreciated having just experienced the storm.

I choose to inject my families life with positivity and cherish every minute. I want to be able to look back in the future when my children are all grown up and have kids of their own and be able to say that I devoted my time to creating beautiful positive memories for my family.

I suppose it can seem a little over the top to some – having a rainbow themed birthday party for a half-birthday, painting with a really young infant, rolling down a hill at a park just to hear my son laugh, designing and re-designing his play space to adapt to his ever-evolving personality.

But it’s me. That’s just what I’m like. I talk openly about things like pregnancy loss, depression and anxiety because they’re hard… but the core of me is Rachel The Life Lover. I refuse to feel like less of a person, just because I don’t fit someone’s idea of who I should be.

“This is my wish for you: Comfort on difficult days, smiles when sadness intrudes, rainbows to follow the clouds, laughter to kiss your lips, sunsets to warm your heart, hugs when spirits sag, beauty for your eyes to see, friendships to brighten your being, faith so that you can believe, confidence for when you doubt, courage to know yourself, patience to accept the truth, and love… to complete your life.”

So Cammy, my rainbow baby in every meaning of the phrase. Thank you for lighting up my life and creating all these sweet memories with me.

I love helping you experience this lovely world… Even if there are a few bumps along the way. Like that bruise on your forehead from were you banged your head on the glass while we had a shower. Or that blood blister on your fingernail from where you jammed your finger into a cupboard door trying to use it to stand up.

Each of those ‘bumps’ (literally, heh heh) were followed by snuggles, giggles, bubble-elf-hats, tickles, stories, tunnel-time and more memories like your ever-present babbling of late (goodness! it’s like he heard how I was worried that he wasn’t as vocal!)

What makes you feel blessed?

Please take a second to click this and vote for us!:

Click To Vote For Us @ the Top Baby Blogs Directory! The most popular baby blogs

One thought on “My ‘Rainbow Baby’

Let me know what you think!

