Illness & New Rhythm

Little Cammy is sick. He had conjunctivitis (now cleared, thank you Chlorsig Drops!) and a runny nose which quickly progressed to a high temp & cough. He was/is just his normal self, soldiering on none the wiser.

Doctor said his ears and chest are clear so he’s just having panadol, fess nasal spray, vaporiser, feeding more and resting.

Surprisingly it’s actually easier to take care of Cam when he’s sick. He sleeps more, just wants quiet simple activities (stories, cuddles, puzzles, etc) and is calm. Sounds bad but I was glad to have some time to clean a bit.

I have found lately that I have been instinctively withdrawing from activities outside the home with Cammy and focussing on the home. I decided today to make a concerted effort to create a rhythm to our daily/weekly life and make things more predictable… Simplify. Connect. Enrich.

I love the hum of our home life. I want to slow down and enjoy life more and in turn allow Cameron to do so too.

It’s not that I don’t love all the activities that we do outside the home but looking at it now I realise that less can sometimes be more. All the planning, driving, shopping, rhyme time, kindergym, swimming, and playgroups are soaking up some precious time and often making life stressful.

That’s not to say that we won’t be going out or so on but that I’m simplifying it right down and making these outings part of a routine of sorts. For example, we may go to the park or a play-date but make sure we are home in time for lunch.

Our morning routine is almost always rushed and our bedtime rituals have been getting pretty slack lately. I certainly don’t want a strict schedule and nothing is set in stone but I would like some predictability and to simplify.

Lately Cam is getting involved in household chores in a productive way. He’s loving mimicking lately and it’s just adorable. I only have to show him something once or twice and he’s keen to ‘help’.

From wiping up a mess to taking clothes to the laundry. He’ll help me dress him and wants to feed our pets himself. He follows me around with his little broom as I sweep and wants his own cooking utencils when I’m preparing food. He is very keen to feed himself using utencils now too which means big messes but the cleaning up is pretty fun for him too!

Today he had a ball (no pun intended) with some ping pong balls and cardboard toilet rolls. Who said toys are expensive?? 😛

Must go sleep. I have been trawling Etsy and didn’t realise the time!!

Thank you for reading ❤

One thought on “Illness & New Rhythm

  1. Hey! I saw your blog on TopMommyBlogs. It caught my eye that you’re married to your high school sweetheart — I am, too! 🙂 We’re expecting our first child in July. Anyway, I’ve loved reading your blog! I’ll be sure to check it out more often.

Let me know what you think!

