Rhythm, More Montessori and Current Projects

One of the main things that I love about the Waldorf (Steiner) method is the emphasis on rhythm. Children thrive off of a predictable, repetitive daily/weekly rhythm. The focus is not on scheduling or routine but rather a natural progression of daily activities. For example, lunch isn’t at a certain time, but rather after morning outdoor play and before nap time.

The sense of rhythm isn’t limited to day-to-day living either but also weekly (i.e. Tuesday is Art Day or Sunday is Family Day) and seasonal (including festivals). The rhythm is not something set-in-stone but is an flexible, ever-adapting ‘to-do list’.

I feel I’m getting to a stage of ‘perfecting’ our daily and weekly rhythm for this point in our lives. For me, the mere fact that I am really thinking about what we do on a day-to-day basis (and how and why) help to make me more purposeful and I’m growing as a mother and a woman because I’m broadening my skill-set.

Random cute photo of Cam & Charli The Kitten

If you are interested in our weekly rhythm at the moment, it is generally:
Monday – Baking
Tuesday – Art
Wednesday – Nature
Thursday – Organisation
Friday – Playgroup
Saturday – Out & About
Sunday – Family

Obviously, we do each of these things on other days too, but these are the focus for those days.

What I love is that it is making me try new things (and try again and again) such as baking on a regular basis (hence my search for the best go-to bread recipe! any suggestions welcome!), reading (Montessori mainly, but also books on mindful parenting and nature play) and different projects myself. I think that is important, not just for me but because I want Cameron to see me being creative in many ways too.

However, I’m now (hopefully) changing Thursday to what I call “Senses Day” (a new Racheous-invention) where we will make a concerted effort to experience new things for each sense [i.e. listen to some new music (sound) on our way to a new place (sight) and try a new food (taste) and focus on a new scent (smell) & try a new sensory activity (touch)].

Our daily rhythm has changed considerably as I’ve simplified and adjusted according to Cameron’s new abilities. I’m hoping to start on more Tot School-esque activities because Cameron is really getting interested in learning different things (e.g. his favourite activities at the moment involve big/small, counting, transportation, shapes and in/out) . I’ll follow what he is interested in and expand on his knowledge and help him develop in all different areas.

********************

Working on pouring at Montessori Playgroup

We (meaning Mike and I) are Montessori mad at the moment and I have been reading a tonne of Montessori books and online information. We have decided that Montessori is definitely the method of education we want for our children. The biggest set-back for us is the fact that there is only one Montessori school in Brisbane (a couple are over an hour away but impractical) and it is expensive. I think, however, that education (moreover, a life-long love of learning and helpful life-skills) is worth it.

His new sweeping circular painting technique. He was very focussed.

I checked out the Children’s House that is attached to Cameron’s Infants House (playgroup) and fell in love. I could go on and on (and on, seriously) about what I observed in such a short timeframe and how it inspired me as a parent… and in what I hope to do beyond parenting. So I’m going to put Cammy on the waiting list! Again, it is more expensive than our other options but you can’t put a price on this kind of thing.

**************************

Some recent projects:

Hand- and foot-print keepsakes – as seen at The Imagination Tree (sooo easy & cheap – it’s a must-do for mamas!). I am going to paint them white.

DIY (freezer paper & fabric paint) stencilling – as seen at Soulemama (and in her book!).

ETA finished product:

I think it turned out great. I’m fairly certain a little choo-choo-obsessed somebody will be thrilled to wear this tomorrow. However, I am now obsessed with DIY stencilling!!!

***************************

Congratulations for making it through an epic post. Thank you for reading! I’d love to hear your thoughts 🙂

2 thoughts on “Rhythm, More Montessori and Current Projects

  1. You are such an active parent! After reading your blog archives over the last week, I have so many tabs open full of ideas for things I want to look into, buy, read about and do. Woohoo!

Let me know what you think!

