Changes

Things are pretty different around here at the moment. This pregnancy has hit me hard. I’m exhausted almost from the moment I wake up and certainly nauseous from the second I wake.

I don’t have severe ‘morning sickness’ but I have nausea all day. Despite sleeping for a minimum of 8 hours (up to 11!) I am drained all the time. I think that is why my breastmilk dried up so quickly and painlessly – my body just couldn’t cope with both!

Pretty hat Cam 😛

Cameron is doing SO well without breastfeeding. I really expected this to be harder than it was. It has been over a week since his last feed and he no longer asks for ‘boobah’.

Mike has also taken to putting Cam down to sleep so that he can get used to both of us. Last night it took only as long as it does for me. I bought Cammy a Thomas the Tank Engine pillow case & toddler pillow which he adores. It helps heaps with the transition of bedtime. His bedtime routine hasn’t changed any, which helps as well.

But things are different at the moment. I am not mothering how I usually do, I’m just too fatigued and blergh to keep up with my usual self. Cameron has adjusted to that too, sadly. In a way, though, I think it is good for him to learn to adjust to Mummy needing time and I have been encouraging him to independently play a lot more than usual.

It is hard not to feel guilty. So much has changed in Cammy’s little life. But he’s doing great. I wish I could bake more with him (smells, blergh!), chase him around and really full-on play like we used to, setting up of elaborate ‘educational’ activities, and what not.

My hilariously-large belly baby/bloat

On the very worst of days there is still good food, the usual routines, some reading, a dash of stimulating playful learning and free outdoors time when possible. I just need to adjust as well to all these changes as he has…

One thought on “Changes

  1. So happy for you and your family! I’ve only been following your blog for a little while, and it is always so inspiring. I will be a mommy in just a few short months, and already you’ve given me so many great ideas for parenting!

Let me know what you think!

