Our Evolving Spaces

We were going to be moving but Mike’s job wasn’t the right fit for our family; which was so disappointing. And as a result I really felt like I was stuck in a rut with this house. We have rented this house for over three and a half years now and have accumulated too much stuff. Everything felt cluttered and disorganised.

So, I have been simplifying and re-organising every room (still have much to go!) and trying to create more Montessori-inspired spaces.

We switched the play and living rooms so that the play areas are on tiles. This has freed up lots of space because I also pushed our dining table against the wall where the 6ft fish tank was (it’s now in the living room).

The space above has had a few changes and more to come. I finally found some appropriate sized glasses for Cam (he had grown out of the espresso one’s that I purchased after he grew out of shot glasses) and bought some proper smaller bowls and plates for him (up until now he has had plastic ones). Cam now sorts his cutlery and puts away his own dishes from the dishwasher. He loves sorting our cutlery too now and puts them all away while I put away the rest. We also purchased another step for him (Ikea 2 step stool) so that one can be out here and the other in the bathroom.

These smaller shelves now hold our instruments and Lucy’s toys are on the bottom shelves. The black box at the top is full of her other toys. The light table is to the right for now and (not pictured) I have bought a coffee table with a shelf under it to hold his sensory tub (which is currently space themed with mini rockets, rocks, homemade moonsand and various scoops/cups/tweezers/etc).

Here are Cam’s shelves. The top four are storage (mostly art supplies and practical life activity items). His 12 shelves hold his dough & materials, collage/gluing/stickers box, cutting practice tray, nature basket, puzzles, more puzzles, Montessori cylinders and sandpaper letters, a blank spot which will house his nesting boxes which are on their way, his farm & animals, some duplo, play silks and play foods.

Cam is just about ready, I think, to start using regular kids scissors. He has truly mastered these beginner ones.

This box gets a lot of use. Not all of the art supplies fit in the boxes up the top of these shelves; I’m only storing the things we use regularly (different types of paints/mark makers/stamps/papers/contact paper/etc). The rest is now neatly stored in a chest of drawers in our spare room.

I’ve added more helpful things for Cam as his abilities & interests have evolved (i.e. a laundry hamper, writing materials, appropriately sized soap to wash himself before I thoroughly clean him, etc)

Cam asked to do all four mini-cylinders at once. It was a bit too challenging & asked for help after finishing a little over half the pieces, but he put them back on their shelf without prompting. I am going to need to purchase a smaller work mat for him, he can’t roll this one independently & I’m going to try to get him using one now. Up until now I have only used it with him a handful of times.

Lucy is loving batting at toys and likes this handmade organic crocheted rattle (from etsy) for grasping practice.

Stay tuned for more. Please feel free to ask questions and/or make suggestions!!

5 thoughts on “Our Evolving Spaces

  1. You truly are an amazing mother!! I love that you provide all sorts of varying games and activities as Cameron learns and evolves! 🙂

  2. I really enjoy reading your blogs. I take a lot from what you write, as l try and introduce some of the same concepts into my home. I’m in Melbourne with a 3 year old and an 8 month old.

  3. Looking good Rach. I’m trying to go through each of our rooms too. There is just soooo much stuff!! How do we accumulate so much? I like your art tidbit box, I thinking about making something similar for cutting practice. I say go for the regular scissors; Cam will probably surprise you with how well he goes. With the floor mat, I bought some largish placemats from Kmart, just $2 each, they’re easy to roll and perfect size for one material. I really need to be more consistent with using it though. Jack is really focussed when he has it out but I keep forgetting to get it out. Oops 😀
    Kate

  4. Sounds like some positive changes! I seem to be constantly trying to organise our play space but living in a tiny house with 3 under 3 and a teenager, I guess it is to be expected 🙂 I feel inspired by what your doing along the Montessori grain. I’ll keep popping back to gather more tips.

  5. Pingback: Our Montessori-Inspired Playspace | Racheous

Let me know what you think!

