Exploring New Mediums

exploring new mediumsPin it This week we have been exploring a few new mediums and having some creative fun! Cameron is right into drawing, painting and otherwise creating animals, people and scenarios.

sensory corn flour shaving foam After seeing it on pinterest and then on Teach Mama, I knew I had to try foam dough. No cooking required and two cheap ingredients! Sold! All you have to do is mix roughly equal parts of corn flour (corn starch) and shaving foam. It is a really fun sensory experience! I couldn’t help but join in. sensory Cam decided to add our old mud kitchen materials in and they spent ages making ‘cupcakes’ (complete with pink foam icing) & ‘cookies’ and there was lots of mixing & measuring. shaving foam sensory play If you follow me on instagram, you would have seen Cam exploring charcoal for the 1st time. He has been asking for and using this since. Just this evening he used it to draw an outline that he coloured in with paint. charcoal By far the favourite new (well, new set up, we use chalk on the easel and sidewalk chalk outside) medium for us was a new blackboard and dustless chalk. It is great for me because Cameron is very into drawing and can go through tons of paper. With the chalkboard he can experiment all he likes, I can take photos to document his pieces and he can rub it off and go again. Lucy likes it too and is drawn to the colourful pieces. chalkboard blackboard chalk Lastly, I added some great tempera paint palettes to our art resources. Both Lucy and Cameron really enjoyed this! Lucy struggled with the idea that you have to add water to your brush first but was very happy when she worked it out. tempera paint palette Cameron is really interested in drawing and creating animals lately. He has been talking to me about extinction and about the different fur/scales/skin/claws/hooves/horns/tails/etc that animals have that are different to us. Here he painted a rainbow dinosaur. It may be just a ‘mum-thing’ but I can see it! I hope this painting scans well as it’s really sweet. 1004756_10151822627988969_634902344_n_20130715215528553 How has your week been? Have you tried anything new recently? I’d love to hear about it! I link up to these great sites.

share creative ideas

5 thoughts on “Exploring New Mediums

  1. What age did you start painting? I was looking all over the craft stores this weekend and everything said 3 or 3+. My little guy is 15 months but I think he might like finger painting or something like that. BUT he still puts stuff in his mouth πŸ™‚ Of course. Ugh.

    • Lucy started painting just before her first birthday. She still mouths things (she is 15 months too) but we started with edible paints (lots of recipes online, we just used coloured yoghurt at first). All our paints are non-toxic and I supervise closely. I believe it’s all part of the process and the learning πŸ™‚

  2. I can totally see the rainbow dinosaur, too! We have been in a slump when it comes to art and I haven’t added in anything particularly exciting in awhile. You’ve got me feeling inspired! πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: On our shelves | Racheous

Let me know what you think!

