On our shelves

our montessori inspired shelves

What is new to our shelves this week? Well creative endeavours are still dominant, but after a little toy rotation, our play/work space has some new trays and activities:

letter K k learning

Cameron knows most phonemes and letters, including both lowercase and uppercase. I say most because a few he’s not confident with. One that he is confident with (but gets confused with because it sounds like ‘/c’) is k. This tray is meant to help him work on that.

There is a letter printable from 1+1+1=1 laminated with a whiteboard marker, a stamp, puzzle piece, beanbag, fridge phonics magnet and sandpaper letter. The only items I’ve added are keys, koala, kangaroo and kookaburra. These are all very familiar to him. Lucy very much loves the fridge phonics alphabet song, hence her little hand in the picture.

montessori shelves toddler preschooler

A new activity to our shelves is one of the rare one’s that both Cameron and Lucy can enjoy together. I ended up separating out the larger pegs for Lucy in her own basket to simplify things.

peg mosaic boards

Both of the kids love this and this has been a daily activity for both of them.

montessori sensory toddler rice

This is a simple rice sensory tub for Lucy. It’s messy but she gets very engaged with it. I plan on varying the things that are in it.

marble transfer

This transferring activity was one that Cameron did when he was younger. Now he counts the marbles, concentrates and takes his time to balance them. He initially got frustrated with this activity because the marbles would fall as he was putting another one on.

light table play

Another activity that both of the kids have been doing together every day is playing with these links and reusable ice cubes on their light table in Cameron’s room.

What have you been up to? I’m linking up to these great linkys.

 

17 thoughts on “On our shelves

  1. I love the larger pegs for Lucy! How old is she? I have seen smaller ones and thought Sixtine would enjoy this activity but she still mouthes a lot of items! Thanks for sharing! I have a question for you since you have an older child, when do most children are able to understand/engage in matching cards?

  2. Loved it!!! Its great that youngest can look up to the older brother and follow their example when working with activities. For example, my 17 mo lady would not be ready for rise activity yet even with me showing what to do.. looks like lots of fun! thank you for sharing!!!

  3. I would love to know the details for the box with the latches on it. Rafferty isn’t old enough for it yet but I can see it being a great toy to have when he is older

  4. All of these activities look so fun, but I especially love that marble and tongs one. I have seen activities like this all over, but I can’t figure out what you are setting the marbles on. What is that black hand thing and where did you buy it? I really want to try this one with my kids. 🙂

  5. Lots of fun activities there! Makes me want to set up a shelf like this – rotating the activities out every couple weeks or so, so that there’s always something new. They get so bored when it’s all available all the time.

  6. Your shelves looks lovely, my son has his hands in a bucket of colored rice as I write this 🙂

    I was wondering if you would tell me where you got your peg board and the montessori cylinders from? I love both but have never seen them anywhere (well the cylinders only in the US). Thanks

  7. Pingback: Tender Moments Blog Hop #26 | Teaching Mama

  8. Pingback: Tender Moments with Toddlers & Preschoolers Blog Hop #26

  9. That activity at the light table looks so inviting and relaxing! I am hoping to find a way to budget one of those in before too much longer 🙂 What is the activity with the pegs? It looks like something Annabelle would enjoy, too!

    • We were lucky and found our light table 2nd hand. The kids love playing at the light table in the afternoons as it gets darker. The other activity is Quercitti pin boards (another 2nd hand find) 🙂

  10. Where did you get the pegs and pegboard? Do you know the brand name? Would love to buy some for my 4’s & 5’s Pre K class! I don’t recall ever seeing them.

  11. Pingback: Tender Moments with Toddlers and Preschoolers Blog Hop #26

Let me know what you think!

